Sierra Maciorowski

Campolindo Continues to Dominate at Stephen Stewart

Sierra Maciorowski
Campolindo Continues to Dominate at Stephen Stewart

The second annual Stephen Stewart Invitational at Milpitas High School came to a close on Sunday, January 28th. Following up from their appearance in octofinals at the tournament in 2017, Campolindo’s Kevin Deng & Krish Visht won this year over Los Altos’s Shirley Cheng & William Zeng on a 2-1 decision. Campolindo negated the final resolution, that “The USFG should substantially increase its military presence in and around the Sea of Japan.”

Left to right: Deng, Visht, Zeng, and Cheng. 

Left to right: Deng, Visht, Zeng, and Cheng. 

This marked the second championship in a row for Deng & Visht, following their victory at the MLK Invitational earlier in 2018. Prior to reaching the final round, the team held a 5-0 record in preliminary rounds and Cheng & Zeng maintained a 3-2 record. Both teams dropped only one ballot during elimination rounds. Notre Dame’s Daenerys Pineda won first in speaker awards, with champion Krish Visht and finalist William Zeng following.

Since its debut last year, the Stephen Stewart Invitational has seen substantial growth. Their open parliamentary debate field welcomed 43 entries this year after 2017 opened with 28 entries, while novice entries jumped from 2 to 24 entries.

The tournament offered topic areas of drug legalization and amnesty and the electronic gaming industry. “The resolutions were all relevant to current events and had decent ground on both sides,” said Club Parli’s Jessica Zhu, who reached octofinals. “The schedule was followed pretty closely, and prep ran relatively smoothly.” 

Debaters had mixed feelings about the judging pool from the weekend’s tournament. “Some of the judges were pretty inexperienced… that’s probably inevitable but it might be worth it to have some judge training next time,” said finalist William Zeng. Zhu concurred. “While the judging pool was rather lay, my personal experience was that most of the rounds were fairly adjudicated based off of the arguments presented,” she said. 

Next season, the tournament date will move to September 28th - 29th. 

Campolindo Kevin Deng & Krish Visht def. Nueva Albert Hao & Eugenia Xu (2-1)
Valley Christian Somu Amujala & Prasanna Jayaganesh def. Club Parli Thomas Li & Jessica Zhu (2-1)
Valley Christian Konishko DasChowdhury & Azaan Qureshi def. Wilcox Michelle Mathew & Athiyya Umar (2-1)
Campolindo Shannon Bonet & Sharon Yuan def. Washington Shiranthi Jawahar & Gandhar Mannur (3-0)
Notre Dame Luke DiMartino & Daenerys Pineda def. Nueva Ben Cheng & Robby Voorhis (2-1)
Berkeley Annika Freeling & Ava Remler def. Wilcox Aditi Anand & Shivangi Kar (2-1)
Los Altos Shirley Cheng & William Zeng def. Nueva Andrew Chu & Rajeev Sharma (2-1)
American Varij Jhaveri & Sejal Shahri def. Los Altos Jodie Bhattacharya & Javin Pombra (2-1)

Campolindo Deng & Visht def. Valley Christian Amujala & Jayaganesh (3-0)
Campolindo Bonet & Yuan def. Valley Christian DasChowdhury & Qureshi (3-0)
Notre Dame DiMartino & Pineda def. Berkeley Freeling & Remler (3-0)
Los Altos Cheng & Zeng def. American Jhaveri & Shahri (3-0)

Campolindo DV w/o Campolindo BY (n/a)
Los Altos CZ def. Notre Dame DP (3-0)

Campolindo DV def. Los Altos CZ (2-1)

Our Northern California correspondents are Emily Her, who competes for Dougherty Valley High School, and Anoushka Singal, who competes for Irvington High School.