Shannon Bonet

Los Altos/Notre Dame Claims SCU2

Shannon Bonet
Los Altos/Notre Dame Claims SCU2

On March 31, 86 varsity teams convened to compete at the Santa Clara University Spring Philalethic Invitational, marking one of the largest tournament field sizes the NorCal region has seen this year. In the final round, Los Altos/Notre Dame’s Spencer Dembner & Lilly Hackworth secured their 10th championship this season on a 3-0 decision against the prior year’s champions, Campolindo’s Kevin Deng & Krish Visht.

Unlike previous years, SCU2 sprawled over the span of 3 days instead of 2, starting on Friday. Instead of ending late like last year, or ending without a final round, as in 2015, the tournament concluded all events early Sunday evening.

Visht, Deng, Dembner, and Hackworth pose following the final round. (left to right)

Visht, Deng, Dembner, and Hackworth pose following the final round. (left to right)

This year, SCU2 did not coincide with the Tournament of Champions, resulting in a higher turnout rate and an opportunity to secure additional team and club points before TOC on April 8th & 9th. Currently, Campolindo maintains first place in the club rankings, with Los Altos close behind.

On their way to finals, Dembner & Hackworth broke on a 3-2 preliminary record and proceeded to defeat Campolindo’s Shannon Bonet & Sharon Yuan in doubles, and Berkeley’s Kai Burgmann & Cole McCann-Phillips in octos. In quarters, they defeated Leland’s Joey Schmuelling & Kevin Wang, and moved on to drop Leland’s Katherine Chen & Wesley Luh in semis.

At the opposite end of the bracket, Deng & Visht entered elimination rounds on a 4-1 preliminary record, defeating Prospect’s Paige Prudhon & Mehak Sharma in doubles, and Irvington’s Aseem Doriwala & Kathan Shah in octos. They dropped Los Altos’s Shirley Cheng & Ryan Lee in quarters, and Bentley’s Ryan Booth & Devin Pracar in semis.

In the novice division, Bentley’s Daniel Drapeau & Katie Reeves defeated Wilcox’s Selina Feng & Shreeya Gad on a 2-1 decision. In novice speaker awards, Notre Dame’s Sophia Berwegen came in 1st, with Quarry Lane’s Aliva Panigrahi in 2nd, and Bentley’s Katie Reeves in 3rd.

In addition to securing the championship, Dembner achieved top speaker in the varsity division, followed closely by Bentley’s Ryan Booth in 2nd and Leland’s Amith Hegde in 3rd.


Leland Katherine Chen & Wesley Luh def. Bentley Irene Partsuf & Michael Rubsamen (3-0)

Campolindo Roni Ayalon & Dima Firsov def. Notre Dame Grace Mondry & Daenerys Pineda (2-1)

Los Altos/Notre Dame Spencer Dembner & Lilly Hackworth def. Berkeley Kai Burgmann & Cole McCann-Phillips (2-1)

Leland’s Joey Schmuelling & Kevin Wang  def. Bentley’s Lucy Holt & Cameron Read (3-0)

Evergreen Valley’s Anthony Gavrilchenko & Anushka Jogalekar def. Kathleen Stamm-Kirk & Stewart Kim (2-1)

Bentley’s Ryan Booth & Devin Pracar def. Leland’s Yash Deshmukh & Rohil Kulkarni (3-0)

Campolindo’s Kevin Deng & Krish Visht def. Irvington’s Aseem Doriwala & Kathan Shah (3-0)

Los Alto’s Shirley Cheng & Ryan Lee def. Evergreen Valley’s Megana Arunarthi & Esha Dadbhawala (3-0)


Leland Chen & Luh def. Campolindo Ayalon & Firsov (2-1)

Los Altos/Notre Dame Dembner & Hackworth def. Leland’s Schmuelling & Wang (3-0)

Bentley’s Booth & Pracar def. Evergreen Valley’s Gavrilchenko & Jogalekar (2-1)

Campolindo’s Deng & Visht def. Los Alto’s Cheng & Lee (3-0)


Los Altos/Notre Dame DH def. Leland CL (3-0)

Campolindo DV def. Bentley BP (2-1)


Los Altos/Notre Dame DH def. Campolindo DV (3-0)

Results can be found here

Our Northern California correspondents are Emily Her, who debates for Dougherty Valley High School, and Shannon Bonet, who debates for Campolindo High School.