Regis closes out Yale

Regis closes out Yale


In a field of contestants representing 208 high schools, the final round of the Yale Invitational came down to just one. Ryan Lee & Michael Sullivan secured the parli crown over Eoin Matthews & Randall Zuccamaglio, all from Regis High School in New York. The elimination rounds were decided in a notably unique fashion: the eventual runner-ups, Zuccamaglio & Matthews, did not debate in the quarterfinals or final round, because in both rounds they were slotted to face off against members of Regis High School, and consequently received a bye.

Thirteen forms of debate drew competitors from all over the country, and with over seventy teams in a single open parliamentary division, this year's tournament broke the record for most participants. The tournament yielded five preliminary rounds before finally breaking to partial octos.

Evergreen’s Basil Abushama & Nadia Cochinwala lead the field heading into break rounds with a perfect 5-0 record. Lee & Sullivan, the eventual winners, entered partial octos seeded third.

The top speaker award went to Abushama, followed closely by Cochinwala. Isabella Pinto of Hillside Academy took the third place prize, with St. Luke’s Alex Levy and Westfield’s Max Shulman following.

A predominantly East Coast style of parliamentary debate dictated much of the tournament as very few kritiks came into play, and the use of tech in general was also noticeably diminished compared to the style of parliamentary debate popular on the West Coast.

The Yale Invitational is considered the official start to the forensics year, welcoming hundreds of competitors in a multitude of fields. It holds a reputation as among the smoothest and most competitive tournaments nationwide, and this year was no exception.

For the first time in the tournament’s history, there was a waitlist of over a hundred teams, and the Yale Debate Association commented that tournament expansion will be looked into over the next year.


Jesuit Jack Ryan & Michael Saadeh def. Westfield Patrick Henderson & Benjamin Small (2-1)

Regis Matthews & Zuccamaglio w/o Regis Kyle Jones & Dylan Kennedy (n/a)

Regis Lee & Sullivan  def. St. Luke’s Alex Levy & Bilal Memom (3-0)

Syosset Jason Beck & Niv Skidan def. St. Luke’s Chloe Kekedjian & Eliza Posner (2-1)


Regis LS def. Syosset Beck & Skidan (3-0)

Regis MZ def. Jesuit Ryan & Saadeh (3-0)


Regis LS w/o Regis MZ (n/a)

Full list of resolutions can be found here.

Full results can be found here.

Link to Facebook post can be found here.