Sierra Maciorowski

Evergreen Valley claims NPDI victory

Sierra Maciorowski
Evergreen Valley claims NPDI victory


On Sunday, November 15, the National Parliamentary Debate Invitational at UC Berkeley narrowed down to a final round late in the night. Negating the resolution “The USFG should mandate that juveniles charged with violent felonies be treated as adults,” Evergreen Valley’s Basil Abushama & Nadia Cochinwala took the round and the tournament on a 4-1 decision over Campolindo’s Conor Hanvey & Peter Moore. With an adjusted field size of 73 teams and 6 preliminary rounds, NPDI was worth 29 points for the champions.

In-round arguments, coupled with the building closure that forced the debaters to finish the round outside, made finals arguably one of the most memorable rounds in recent parliamentary debate history. The affirmative team rejected the resolution, advocating against capitalism through poetry, while the negation ran three procedurals and their own spontaneous anti-capitalist poem.

While the arguments were different, the tournament delivered on the same effective organization, high quality judging, and topical resolutions that competitors have come to expect over the last four years since the tournament’s conception. Its schedule, though efficient, did not match the timeliness of last year’s tournament, finishing 2.5 hours behind instead of 10 minutes.

NPDI’s field included most of Northern California’s top teams, including the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th 8th, 9th and 10th nationally ranked teams. On the way to the championship, Abushama & Cochinwala dropped Los Altos’ Alex Wong & William Zeng in doubles, walked over teammates Albert Le & Jai Nekkileru in octos, and dropped Dougherty Valley’s Larry Liang & Nick Sawhney in quarters and Campolindo’s Kaveh Boostanpour & Thomas Liao in semifinals.

Hanvey & Moore dropped Cupertino’s Shankara Srikantan & Sequoia’s Kushagra Sharma in doubles, Los Altos’ Spencer Dembner & Steven Herman in octos, Lynbrook’s Rathi & Tripathi in quarters and Sonoma’s Connor Duncan & Aris Saxena in semis.

Los Altos’ Spencer Dembner was the tournament’s top speaker, followed by Connor Duncan from Sonoma Academy and Ashland’s John Ropp.

In the JV division, Campolindo closed out the tournament, with the duos of Krish Visht & Elena Koshkin and Sharon Yuan & Arjun Chimni making their way to finals. With its collective success at the tournament, Campolindo won the overall team sweepstakes, followed by Evergreen in 2nd and Windsor in 3rd, while Jesuit won the small entry sweepstakes award.

Partial Double-Octofinals

Washington Cynthia Chang & Abhinav Tripathy def. Evergreen Anirudh Mani & Janav Sharma (2-1)

Dougherty Valley Larry Liang & Nick Sawhney def. Washington Rahul Sheth & Anirudh Veeraragavan (2-1)

Campolindo Conor Hanvey & Peter Moore def. Cupertino/Sequoia Shankara Srikantan & Kushagra Sharma (3-0)

Ashland Conlan Ellis & Rob Stallman def. Windsor Autumn Inman & Aly Young (2-1)

Sonoma Caleb Kornfein & Audrey von Raesfeld def. Saratoga Aakash Thumaty & Alexander Li (3-0)

Sonoma Connor Duncan & Aris Saxena def. Ashland Elliott Mellon & Karl Moeglein (2-1)

Evergreen Basil Abushama & Nadia Cochinwala def. Los Altos Alex Wong & William Zeng (2-1)


Evergreen Abushama & Cochinwala w/o Evergreen Albert Le & Jai Nekkileru (n/a)

Campolindo Kaveh Boostanpour & Thomas Liao def. Washington Chang & Tripathy (3-0)

Dougherty Valley Liang & Sawhney def. St. Vincent de Paul Julia Hunter & Adam Martin (2-1)

Campolindo Hanvey & Moore def. Los Altos Spencer Dembner & Steven Herman (2-1)

Bishop O'Dowd Camille Porter-McAvoy & Danielle Viviani def. Ashland Ellis & Stallman (3-0)

Lynbrook Kartik Rathi & Uday Tripathi def. Ashland Ryan Brown & John Ropp 

Sonoma Kornfein & von Raesfeld def. ABM Michelle Huang & Aditya Kaushik (3-0)

Sonoma Duncan & Saxena def. Bishop O'Dowd Carla Ho & Eunice Jung (2-1)


Evergreen AC def. Dougherty Valley LS

Campolindo Boostanpour & Liao def. Sonoma KV (2-1)

Sonoma DS def. Bishop O'Dowd Porter-McAvoy & Viviani  (3-0)

Campolindo HM def. Lynbrook Rathi & Tripathi


Evergreen AC def. Campolindo BL (3-0)

Campolindo HM def. Sonoma DS (3-0)


Evergreen AC def. Campolindo HM (4-1)

Link to Facebook posts may be found here and here

Link to Tabroom may be found here

Link to resolutions may be found here.