The culminating tournament of the New York Parliamentary Debate League’s second full season saw one of the most talent-concentrated fields in league history. At the end of five preliminary rounds and a break to quarterfinals, Horace Mann’s Jack Klein & Madhav Menon took the final round on a 2-1 decision over Stuyvesant’s Elijah Karshner & Jake Goldman. 

For elimination rounds, topics were written in part by former NYPDL Executive Director and current Columbia University debater Rodda John. These resolutions closely emulated topics seen at the collegiate APDA level, like “This house, as a superhero, would place themselves in the service of the democratic state,” rather than the policy resolutions seen on other circuits.

Though he did not break, Horace Mann’s Govind Menon finished as the top speaker for his second NYPDL tournament in a row, following up on his success at the Edison Invitational earlier in the season. 

In addition to debate rounds, this tournament’s activities included the selection of a new board for the 2018-19 season of the New York Parliamentary Debate League. Since league rules dictate that all board members be current high school students, the league will continue to be entirely student-run. After a rigorous written application and interview process, the five senior board members convened shortly after the tournament to appoint a total of seven students. The full results are listed here: 

Executive Director: Will Golub
Deputy Executive Director: Bryson Weise
Program Director: Amanda Piasecki
Tournament Director: Julia Robbins
Deputy Tournament Director: Natalie Sweet
Outreach Director and Director of National Policy: Kiran Singh
Treasurer: Claire Marchand 

In an interview, Golub said that he was excited to begin his term as the league’s third executive director. The 2017-2018 season saw extraordinary progress for the NYPDL, including tripling the number of participating schools, and Golub plans to “continue the league’s growth by hosting as many events as possible.” 

He also plans, with Program Director Piasecki, to film a series of informational videos on aspects of parliamentary debate such as prep time, constructive speeches, and rebuttals “to help new teams get off the ground” and supplement the extant body of written resources. According to Golub, much of the NYPDL’s goals in the coming years will center around a pragmatic policy of growth for parliamentary debate as a whole both within the confines of New York City and for the Tri-State Area as a whole. 

Golub has “a great vision for the league,” said outgoing Executive Director Radhika Mehta, and he will be “more than capable of executing it.”

As the last tournament for many of the members who helped to found the NYPDL  in the spring of 2016, the New York Parliamentary Championship certainly represented a culminating point for much of the hard work that took place over the past few years. However, with the selection of a dedicated new board, the New York Parliamentary League has the potential to grow and expand until parliamentary debate expands across the East Coast.


Horace Mann Amman Kejela and Sonia Schuster def. Dalton Michael Gormley and Ilana Cuello-Wolffe (2-1)

Stuyvesant Elijah Karshner and Jake Goldman def. Dalton Grant Gordon and Benjamin Rothschild (2-1) 

Horace Mann Madhav Menon and Jack Klein def. Union Kiran Singh and Miranda Wollen (Ret.)

Dalton Hart Rapaport def. Debaters Jason Milch and Alec Singer (3-0)


Stuyvesant Karshner and Goldman def. Horace Mann Kejela and Schuster (3-0)

Horace Mann Menon and Klein def. Dalton Rapaport (3-0)


Horace Mann Meon and Klein def. Stuyvesant Karshner and Goldman (2-1)

Our East Coast correspondents are Haven Hunt, who competes for Immaculate Heart, Paul Kim, who competes for Ridgefield High School, and Hart Rapaport, who competes for The Dalton School.