On Sunday night, March 12th, the 6x4 Blue Edition concluded with a final round held outside the gates of Bishop O’Dowd High School’s campus. Negating the resolution, Los Altos/Notre Dame’s Spencer Dembner & Lilly Hackworth defeated Campolindo’s Austen Li & Ming Qian on a tight 2-1 decision.

Affirming the resolution that "The People’s Republic of China should abandon its principle of a 'Peaceful Rise'", Campolindo critiqued the fabrication of reality within society and thus advocated a satire plan text to deconstruct this skewed reality. Los Altos/Notre Dame responded with a critique of orientalism and theoretical arguments pertaining to the debate space. 

6x4 Blue aimed to pack six preliminary rounds and three elimination rounds into a single day tournament, but the finals round ran shy of perfect timing, ending after the planned 9pm. Due to campus security needs, finalists were forced to debate outside amid passing cars, planes, and occasional gusts of wind. 

Li, Qian, Dembner, and Hackworth (left to right) prepare to debate the final round outside the gates of Bishop O'Dowd High School.

Li, Qian, Dembner, and Hackworth (left to right) prepare to debate the final round outside the gates of Bishop O'Dowd High School.

On their way to finals, Li & Qian emerged top seed with a 6-0 preliminary record. They proceeded to defeat Neuva’s Adam Keller & Paco Poler in quarters, and walk over teammates Shannon Bonet & Sharon Yuan in semis. Coincidentally, Bonet & Yuan were walked over in semis by teammates and 6x4 Red Champions Kevin Deng & Krish Visht the previous day. 

Meanwhile, Dembner & Hackworth broke into outrounds on a 5-1 record. They defeated Nueva’s Leo Rossi & Neeraj Sharma in quarters, and Campolindo's Deng & Visht in semis. At the time of the semifinal round, Campolindo made up 75% of the elimination field, but Dembner & Hackworth emerged on top by the end of the night. 

Dembner, Hackworth, Qian, and Li pose after the final round decisions.

Dembner, Hackworth, Qian, and Li pose after the final round decisions.

This year, 6x4 Blue's field size was comprised of only 20 teams, even though there were 24 available slots. This turnout differed from last year, when the 24 entry cap was expanded to account for 32 teams. Traditionally, 6x4 features round-robin style preliminary rounds, with teams distributed into pods of four teams created at random. Instead of the planned six pods or last year's expansion to eight pods, only five pods were created this year. Each team debated their fellow pod members twice in preliminary rounds.

Following a tightly packed schedule, debaters started their next rounds merely minutes after finishing their previous rounds. Due to this efficiency, preliminary rounds concluded by 5pm. The top eight seeded teams advanced to the quarterfinal round, including the best team from each of the five pods, in addition to two “wild card” teams with the highest records out of all pods, with ties broken on head-to-head and speaker points. 

In open speaker awards, Hackworth secured first place, in addition to the champion title. Qian came in at a close second, while Los Altos’ Shirley Cheng claimed third place. 

Meanwhile, in the novice division, known as the Blue Cubed, Club Parli Peninsula’s Albert Hao & Eugenia Xu prevailed on a 2-1 decision in finals against Hillview Parli’s Sathvik Nori & Alex Waitz. The top three novice speakers were Evan Si and Tamur Asar from Los Altos, in order, and novice champion Eugenia Xu.


Campolindo Austen Li & Ming Qian def. Neuva Adam Keller & Paco Poler (3-0)

Campolindo Kevin Deng & Krish Visht def. Bishop O’Dowd Claudia Hester & Sophia Yau-Weeks (2-1)

Los Altos/Notre Dame Spencer Dembner & Lilly Hackworth def. Nueva Leo Rossi & Neeraj Sharma (3-0)

Campolindo Shannon Bonet & Sharon Yuan def. Los Altos Shirley Cheng & Ryan Lee (2-1)


Campolindo Li & Qian w/o Campolindo Bonet & Yuan (n/a)

Los Altos/Notre Dame def. Campolindo Deng & Visht (3-0)


Los Altos/Notre Dame DH def. Campolindo LQ (2-1)

Results can be found here

Our Northern California correspondents are Shannon Bonet, who debates for Campolindo High School, and Emily Her, who debates for Dougherty Valley High School.