Cleveland's Debate Holiday Edgy Attracts Record Number of Teams

On December 2, Cleveland High School in Portland hosted the Debate Holiday Edgy, which included eighteen schools in open division parliamentary debate and a similar number in novice. At Cleveland, all debaters participated in two different styles throughout the day, which only allowed time for four preliminary rounds. 

The tournament ended in hidden quarterfinals, which included Cleveland’s Alex Lindgren-Ruby & Glen Skahill, Cleveland's Henry Hawking & Quinn Samoulidis, McMinnville’s Joe Gullo & Ben Pollak, and South Eugene’s Nate Tavakolian & Jimmy Wang. Novice division did not have any hidden elimination rounds: Cleveland’s Milan Donhowe & Anna Easton were the only undefeated team in the novice field.

“The tournament was Cleveland's first ever which was an intriguing experience for us," said Cleveland's Quinn Samoulidis. "But everything went over smoothly.” There were 37 entries in open parliamentary debate and 39 in novice, making this Portland tournament the largest in Oregon so far this year. "It was nice to get people from all over the state to the tournament but it had the drawback of only being able to break to quarters with no rounds after," Samoulidis said. 

Despite one round with slanted resolutions, said Cleveland's Glen Skahill, the tournament was well-run. "It was the best organized tournament of the year. . . Rounds that began with lay judges and eventually utilized experienced judges allow[ed for] higher level argumentation later on," he explained. 

The overwhelming number of parliamentary debaters at the new Portland tournament suggests growth for this style of debate in the Oregon circuit that hopefully will continue throughout this school year— and next year, if Cleveland hosts the Debate Holiday Edgy again in 2018.

Get full results here

Our Oregon correspondents are Hannah Doyle, who competes for Ashland High School, and Gabriel Graville, who competes for Lake Oswego High School. 

Hannah Doyle