On October 21, the Jerry Hudson Invitational at Willamette University culminated in a final round between Southridge's Jakob Hollenbeck & Joey Miller and Wilson's Fletcher Calcagno & Elijah Moon. Affirming the resolution, “This house believes that Catalonia’s independence would be ultimately beneficial," Hollenbeck & Miller championed on a 3-0 decision.

Hollenbeck & Miller's performance brought them to third place in the national parliamentary rankings, and they are the first Oregon team this year to qualify for the Parliamentary Debate Tournament of Champions. 

Of the 30 Oregon high schools that competed at Jerry Hudson Invitational, 18 schools entered at least one team in parliamentary in either novice, junior or open division. Over the course of two days and five preliminary rounds, twenty-four open teams competed for the championship. 

The junior varsity division concluded in a close out of Oak Hill's Katrina Carrier & Daisy Hagen and Julian Bellavita & Aubra Scott-Hinkle. Bellavita & Scott-Hinkle were the only team that did not lose any ballots over the course of the tournament.  

In the novice division, both Springfield's Levi McDaniel & Nathan Weaver and South Eugene's Mira Cross & Madeline Spawn beat their respective opponents in semifinals on 3-0 decisions to advance into the final round. Cross & Spawn successfully negated their finals round to defeat McDaniel & Weaver on a 3-0 decision.

Fifteen parliamentary debaters won a Willamette gavel, the award for emerging a top five speaker from their respective division. In novice, Oak Hill's McKenzie Carrier won first place speaker with Lakeridge's Sofia Marin-Ouiros and Springfield's Levi McDaniel claiming second and third. In junior varsity, Sandy's Hannah Randall scored the first place gavel, with South Albany's Josiah Balderas and South Albany's Keith Stevens taking second and third. In open,  Wilson's Moses Felberg achieved first place speaker with Wilson's Fletcher Calcagno and Lakeridge's Seba Marin-Quiros taking second and third. 

This was Oregon’s largest forensics tournament of the season so far, leaving a few smaller events hosted by high schools next up on the Oregon calendar. 


Ashland Hannah Doyle & Alex Webb def. Summit Sydney Adair & Shilo Grayson (2-1)

Southridge Jakob Hollenbeck & Joey Miller def. Summit Brooks Rupar & Hannah Tobiason (3-0)

Wilson Fletcher Calcagno & Elijah Moon def. South Eugene Ava Vasconcellos & Adam Zawierucha (3-0)

Cleveland Henry Hawking & Quinn Samouilidis def. Lakeridge Eva Augst & Seba Marin-Quiros (3-0)


Wilson Fletcher Calcagno & Elijah Moon def. Ashland Hannah Doyle & Alex Webb (2-1)

Southridge Jakob Hollenbeck & Joey Miller def. Cleveland Henry Hawking & Quinn Samouilidis (2-1)


Southridge Jakob Hollenbeck & Joey Miller def. Wilson Fletcher Calcagno & Elijah Moon (3-0)

Full results can be found here.

Our Oregon correspondents are Hannah Doyle, who competes for Ashland High School, and Gabriel Graville, who competes for Lake Oswego High School.