Sprague Wins Gold at Home Tournament

A large pool of 22 teams in the open division yielded strong competition at Sprague's Invitational Debate Tournament. 

Although formal semifinal rounds were not held, round four included hidden semifinals.

During these semifinals, Cleveland's Eli Godleske & Theo Karlsen fell against Sprague's Arika Harrison & Kenneth Leja, and Cleveland's Andras Williams & Eliana Kertzner defeated Southridge's Joey Miller & Julia Dayton. 

At the end of the tournament, no formal placings were announced. However, Harrison & Leja finished the tournament as the only undefeated partnership. The remaining semifinalists all had a record of three wins and one loss.

Meanwhile, in the novice division of parliamentary debate, a strong field of 21 partnerships left Westview's Anwesha Mukherjee & William Dennis Nahl with a perfect record. Additionally, in the junior varsity division, Crescent Valley's Sarabeth Pearce-Smith & Garak Ward emerged from the field of 11 as the sole undefeated partnership. 

Teams from northern Oregon will reconvene at the Clackamas Holiday Edge Tournament on December 3rd.

Our Oregon correspondents are Karl Moeglein, who debates for Ashland High School, and SaraJane Griffiths, who debates for Lake Oswego High School. 

SaraJane Griffiths